A time where I could make you mine
I made a promise I was never gonna hurt you
I wrote a letter and divided all the words in two
half for me and half for you
Now I’m sending out a searchlight along latitudes and satelites
You were like a power of nature
telepathic beautiful creature
understanding all of my weakness
patient, loving, knowing you’d reach it
Cynical and hurt was just me
you were never supposed to be
part of what I would call amazing
took so long to finally see
I was dumb I was wrong I let you down
but I know how I feel about you now
…And I want you and that’s so terrifying
and I want you to help put out the fire
cause I am an island, you are the ocean
and all of my sadness taken by the sea 

This guy has danced for me
and I have danced for him
This guy has cried for me
and I have cried for him

I started believing
I deserved it
was I worthless
sinking like a rescue boat
washing right over me
vessel is struggling
waving both my hands in the air
then the blindness of love
then your arms all around me
Not running from the past
I tried to do what’s best
I know that I deserve it
And if the answers don’t come quick we’ll go with how it feels
and sometimes that’s not yes or no but
maybe there’ll be no falling stars this time around
I still believe that
honesty is all we’ll ever need
I saw you looking in the mirror
I saw you fighting with your conscience
I think you need a little time away
and I may give you mine
But to wait for you, is all I can do and that’s what I’ve got to face
just take a look at me now, cos I’ll still be standing here
and you coming back to me is against all odds
it’s a chance I’ve got to take

There is no easy way to break somebody’s heart
when you know what you’re gonna say will leave a mark
but I’ve tried, and I’ve tried, and I’ve tried To no end

It’s morning,
sunlight shines across your sleeping face
a new day,
brings reality that we must go our
separate way

Don’t give up don’t give up always dark before the morning when you can’t go on
you be a brave heart I’ll be a lion’s roar
‘Cause things just don’t feel the same

Oh I wish it could be different

wish it could be different
but it’ll only hurt you more

It’s so confusing I thought I met my match
an intellectual would telling for a catch
Everything I can’t be
is everything you should be
It was inevitable that it would end
your picture’s off my wall
but I’m still waiting for that call
and every men that walks through that door
will be compared to you forever more
Honestly what will become of me
don’t like reality
It’s way too clear to me
but really life is daily
we are what we don’t see
missed everything daydreaming
It’s so sad that it had to end

Please could you stay
awhile to share my grief
for its such a lovely day
to have to always feel this way
and the time that I will suffer less
is when I never have to wake
…And you could find me in the moon glow
you find me underneath your pillow
and we can find a little hideaway
where we can go…

 

